Be Sure About the Lessons You Teach

A lot of what I do is teach. I spend more time getting the answers from clients because they know better how to run their business.

It’s just that at times each of us has to be coached or coaxed a little for the answers to come out. The witness for this is that I coach CPAs, eye surgeon, dentists, retail, wholesale, manufacturing and distribution. I don’t think you want me to do your taxes and you definitely don’t want me to work on your eyes.

One example of how the teaching thing works is this: I went fishing one morning and after a short time I ran out of worms. Just couldn’t seem to catch ‘em and always kept losing the bait. About then I saw a cottonmouth snake swimming nearby. He had a frog in his mouth.

Now you probably know this… but the fangs of the snake are angled back  and not a danger when the snake has something in his mouth like this frog.  And…Frogs are good bass bait.

So, knowing the snake couldn’t bite me with the frog in his mouth and assessing my fishing situation as being about to abruptly end if I didn’t get some more bait…I grabbed the snake right behind the head,…took the frog, and put it in my bait bucket.

Now I had a frog and one really pissed off cotton-mouth, poisonous snake. I had what they call a Dilemma. How was I to release the snake without being bitten.

Well as luck would have it I just happened to have brought along a fair sized tumbler of bug juice… ok, it was a bottle. So I grabbed my bottle of Wild Turkey and poured a little whiskey in the snake’s mouth. His eyes rolled back and he went limp.

I released him into the lake without incident and carried on fishing using the frog. A bit of time went by and suddenly I felt a nudge on my foot.

I looked down….. and wrapped around my foot AND the bottle of  bourbon  was that damn snake,  he had brought me two more frogs!!

Teaching takes various forms and yields a wide variety of results.

Author of Breakthroughs  for Success available at Amazon and the  website of the same name.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

