What is Your Legacy?

The first lesson is Leadership and Mentoring is be a guide, tutor, coach, leader. This is where we learn to leverage our own qualities and our ability to create output by teaching and helping others. We know how Trusted Mentors will leave their mark. Sound advice, guidance, love and examples. They help with personal growth and are important in shaping a young mind.
So, we have to ask: What is our legacy? Who can we help? How can we shape the lives and futures of others? Who can we remove from a negative place? What marks are we leaving along the path for the next generation? Here’s the important thing: We may be successful, but we have an obligation to pass on what we’ve learned. It is not ours to keep. It is ours to pass on.

With mentoring you may never know how your legacy will continue to grow and influence others. Some may take 50 + years to be recognized.

When I was 11 years old it was a big deal to be in the “A” league in Little League baseball. I was fortunate enough to be there. We were returning Champs. Several of us had be on the “All Star” team. Tryouts are held each year and boys are picked for teams in the A, B & C leagues. Our coach picked a boy I didn’t think belonged on an “A” team. Somehow I had appointed myself judge. This young boy lived down the street from me. He couldn’t throw the ball out of his shadow. We could have had another boy who could really play. But the coach knew he should select him. He came from an unfortunate family situation. They struggled with everything. The self-esteem of everyone in the family was low. I now know after 50+ years this was one of the most important things I have ever witnessed. I now know how much it helped that boy and helped his family. I now know how wrong I was to judge that boy and to judge the coach’s choice. The coach was my Dad. He was gone by the time of my ‘awakening.’ I didn’t get to tell him how proud I was of this unselfish mentoring decision. I’ve told him in prayer. I am telling him now in a forum that will live in the public forever. It took 50+ years for my dense head to get it. But I’ve got it now. I’m proud of him for his legacy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

